Uruguay Copa America 2024 Team Squad of 26 Players Announced

A 26-man team squad of Uruguay for the Copa America 2024 has been announced. Nation’s all-time top goal scorer Luis Suarez will be playing his 5th edition alongside Liverpool’s Darwin Nunez, Real Madrid’s Federico Valverde, and Barcelona’s Ronald Araujo.

uruguay copa america 2024 team squad

The Final squad was announced on 8 June 2024. Head coach Marcelo Biesla has named a balanced squad for the summer competition which includes 3 goalkeepers, 8 defenders, 8 midfielders, and 7 forwards.

Luis Suarez to play 5th Copa America

Inter Miami’s and Uruguay’s leading goal scorer Luis Suarez will play his 5th Copa America edition in the United States. After being picked up for the South American competition, the former Barcelona forward wrote on his social profile

Very happy and proud to be picked. Let’s go Uruguay, let’s go

Suarez played his first Copa America in 2011 and won the title also. He was the best player of the tournament. Since then, Uruguay has not won the title after 23 years. But now, they have one of the best squads that can repeat the history of 2011.

Barcelona’s Ronald Araujo, Napoli’s Mathias Olivera, PSG’s Manuel Ugarte, Real Madrid’s Federico Valverde, and Liverpool’s Darwin Nunez are the players to watch in Copa America 2024. Maxi Gomez of Cadiz and Wolverhampton Waderers’ Santiago Bueno have been ruled out of the squad.

Uruguay Copa America 2024 Team Squad

Player Matches Goals Club
Sergio Rochet 19 0 Internacional
Santiago Mele 4 0 Atletico Junior
Franco Israel 2 0 Sporting CP
Jose Gimenez 84 8 Atletico Madrid
Matias Vina 36 0 Flamengo
Mathias Olivera 18 1 Napoli
Ronald Araujo 16 1 Barcelona
Guillermo Varela 15 0 Flamengo
Sebastian Caceres 12 0 America
Lucas Olaza 3 0 Krasnodar
Nicolas Marichal 1 0 Dynamo Moscow
Rodrigo Bentancur 59 1 Tottenham Hotspur
Federico Valverde 56 6 Real Madrid
Nahitan Nandez 56 0 Cagliari
Giorgian de Arrascaeta 46 10 Flamengo
Nicolas de la Cruz 26 5 Flamengo
Manuel Ugarte 16 0 PSG
Maximiliano Araujo 8 1 Toluca
Emiliano Martinez 2 0 Midtjylland
Luis Suarez 138 68 Inter Miami
Brian Rodriguez 23 4 America
Darwin Nunez 23 11 Liverpool
Facundo Pellistri 20 1 Granada
Agustin Canobbio 12 1 Athletico Paranaense
Cristian Olivera 3 0 Los Angeles FC
Brian Ocampo 1 0 Cadiz

You may also like

The 15-time Copa America Champions are in Group C of the competition with the hosts United States, Panama, and Bolivia. La Celeste will kick off their campaign against Panama on 23 June at the Hard Rock Stadium, Miami Gardens, Florida. Thereafter, they’ll face Bolivia and the United States on 27 June and 1 July respectively.

Uruguay is one of the best 5 teams to win Copa America with their young and experienced team. The joint most successful team in the competition is yet to win their first title in the last 23 years. Will they lift the trophy in the United States this time?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *